Wednesday, December 1, 2010

Brightest Day Volume 1 [2010] by Geoff Johns

The Brightest Day maxi-series follows 12 resurrected characters from the Blackest Night event. The entity within the White Lantern reveals that it is dying and a replacement must be chosen and each of the 12 have returned to protect Earth until the arrival of its new protector.

Series co-writer Geoff Johns explains that this series is about second chances and some will work out while others will not. The various subplots within Brightest Day will intertwine with one another and present an overall comprehensive story. During the San Diego Comic-Con, Johns announced there will be a White Lantern oath introduced within Brightest Day and added “when the White Ring creates a construct, it’s there forever.”

Series co-writers have crafted a story that builds upon the previous layers to create a comprehensive and exciting story. The series does jump around from character to character however the central thread is tighter compared to previous works such as 52 and Countdown to Final Crisis. The artwork within Brightest is top notch and doesn’t cheapen this maxi-series. The hardcover only collects the first 8 issues of Brightest Day series however it presents a well established background to enjoy the upcoming issues.

- Deadman battles the Anti-Monitor
- Aquaman is telepathically linked to dead sea life
- Return of Black Manta
- Hawkman and Hawkgirl travel to Hawkworld
- Martian Manhunter realizes that another Martian is on Earth
- Three entities are inside the Firestorm matrix
- The White Lantern reveals to Maxwell Lord to stop Magog become Kingdom Comes
- The Reverse Flash is rewarded after rescuing the Flash from the Speed Force

This hardcover collects
Brightest Day #0-7